• nicolewettemann

A Beginner's Guide to the Seven Chakras

Updated: Aug 18, 2019

Chakras are the energy centers in our body. There are seven main chakras located within our body that can be thought of as pathways that promote balance within our body, mind, and spirit. Blocked energy in our chakras can lead to distress and imbalance. Therefore it is essential to get an understanding of our chakras, their role, and how to keep them flowing freely.

Here is a brief summary of each chakra.

Root Chakra (Red):

The root chakra at the base of the spine represents our foundation. It anchors us and gives us the feeling of being solidly grounded and present in this life. When the Root chakra is open, we feel steady and confident in our ability to weather storms. When it is blocked, we feel unsteady and easily threatened. 

Associations: Survival, Belonging, Money, Food

Sacral Chakra (Orange):

The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen. The sacral chakra is associated with emotions. It’s the center of our feelings and sensations. It’s particularly active in the expression of our sensual and sexual desires, swell as joy and creativity. When the Sacral Chakra is blocked, it can lead to dependency on other people and substances, being overly emotional or numb, overindulgences, and feeling stuck.

Associations: Emotions, Creativity, Joy, Sexuality

Solar Plexus (Yellow):

The Solar Plexus, located right below the rib cage and above your belly button is the power center of who you are. When the Solar Plexus is open, we feel empowered and confident and able to maintain boundaries.

Associations: Self-Worth, Self- Esteem, Self-Confidence  

Heart Chakra (Green): 

The Heart Chakra is located in our Heart center. When it is open, we give and receive love effortlessly and freely. It also connects the bottom three chakra with the top three chakras.

Associations: Love, Joy, Inner Peace

Throat Chakra (Blue): 

The throat chakra, when balanced, gives voice to our heart chakra and empowers us to speak our truth and express ourselves authentically in this lifetime. When it is blocked, we withhold, control, and often lack the ability to speak up on our behalf.

Associations: Communications, Self-Expression, Truth

Third Eye Chakra (Indigo):

The third eye chakra is located between our eyebrows. When it is open, we have the ability to see the big picture and tune into our intuition. It is often called the eye of the soul because when it is open, we have an ability to see beyond the surface to deeper meaning.

Associations: Intuition, Imagination, Wisdom

Crown Chakra (Violet): 

Located at the top of our head, the crown chakra represents our ability to connect spiritually and when open, gives us access to higher consciousness. 

Associations: Inner and Outer beauty, Spiritual Connection

If you are interested in opening and balancing your chakras, listening to chakra balancing meditations can be helpful. Feel free to listen to my 15-Minute Healing Chakra Meditation:


Start Living Your Best Life Now!

I will send you materials that inspire, support, and empower you to  live a spiritually connected and joyful life.

As a welcome gift, I will send you my free  Conquer Depression Toolkit to guide you through bad days.

© 2019 Nicole Wettemann | All Rights Reserved